Many states in the United States have decriminalized marijuana for medical and sometimes recreational uses. While this left many users with a sigh of relief, often it doesn’t for those who own it in Oklahoma.
Oklahoma has not legalized recreational marijuana. If caught doing this, you could receive a felony sentence of up to 1.5 ounces and a fine of $ 400. Sometimes the punishment can be even more severe, depending on what some lawyers like to refer to as “legal traps”. When you find yourself in this situation, a few factors can indicate the need for a criminal defense attorney.
You were within 1,000 feet of a school or park
Even if you didn’t intend to be near a school or park, it may be important to use the services of Oklahoma City attorney Angela Singleton if the police pulled you over within 1,000 feet of one. Outside of that 1,000 feet, you may only be charged with one misdemeanor. it can become a criminal offense Within this scope. A reputable attorney may be able to assist in combating these charges or downgrade them to the lesser charge of a misdemeanor.
They are not licensed to use medical marijuana
Fines and jail sentences can sometimes be a reality when in possession of marijuana in Oklahoma, especially if you are not licensed to use medical marijuana. This license allows individuals to smoke and consume medicinal drugs Marijuana in Oklahomaas long as it is within the guidelines of:
- Up to three ounces of marijuana
- Up to six fully grown plants – buds
- Up to six seedlings – not budding
- Up to eight ounces of marijuana in one residence
- Up to 72 ounces of edible marijuana
- Up to an ounce of concentrated marijuana
License holders are also allowed to smoke anywhere tobacco products are available and allowed to consume marijuana edible form somewhere. However, you are not exempt from federal prosecution while on state in Oklahoma, e.g. B. National Park Service or Department of Agriculture land, or military posts.
If you are not licensed to use marijuana under these guidelines and you have not reported a medical problem at the time of police questioning, hiring an attorney can help ensure that you understand the likely consequences.
They were caught using marijuana around children
Even if you have less than 1.5 ounces of marijuana, which is indicative of a misdemeanor, the presence of children under the age of 12 can result in a crime. This child may have been in a vehicle with you when you were caught with the drug or they may be on the property where they were discovered. Even if you have been compliant with police officers and there was no evidence that the child was in danger, this situation can undoubtedly reveal the need for legal interference.
The police believe the intention was to disperse
Charges of possession with the intention of distributing can be made in a number of ways. You might have carried your marijuana in two bags, or the police might have spotted dandruff in your vehicle or at home. You might even have said something to the police to share or bake brownies with friends. Even if you had no intention of selling or distributing the marijuana in your possession, your increased fees may not reflect it. A competent defense attorney can be asked to fight for a lesser charge.
They don’t know the laws of Oklahoma
Because each state has different laws regarding marijuana use and possession, not everyone is aware of the laws relating to the state in which they are located. They may not originally be from Oklahoma, or you may be traveling from where they are legal, such as Massachusetts.
However, ignorance or lack of knowledge of the marijuana law is not enough to deter you from being charged with a misdemeanor or criminal offense. To become familiar with the law and determine your next step, it may be necessary to contact an attorney.
They drove under the influence
Under Oklahoma law, anyone driving a motor vehicle with a Schedule 1 controlled or chemical substance in their system will be detained for a minimum of ten days and more than a year or more. In Oklahoma, marijuana is a Schedule 1 controlled or chemical substance. The charge can be more serious, such as: For example, the seizure of property or vehicles if they are related to that marijuana and the suspension of a driver’s license for three years or more. You cannot face these grave charges on your own.
Although many states have relaxed laws regarding recreational marijuana use, Oklahoma is not one of them. If you are facing charges of personal property or something more serious, it is better to see a criminal defense attorney sooner rather than later.